Spring Sprint 5K

This past Saturday, Santana and I completed the Spring Sprint 5K at Cranes Roost Park. The both of us have done races in the past, but this was the first we’ve done together. I’m looking forward to the many more that are to come!

20130422-150643.jpg

We also met up with some of my coupon lady friends. Crystal and Lori have also completed many races and are inspiring for their drive to do more. For Ashley, Tara and Susan, it was their first official 5K. I couldn’t be more proud of them for taking that step in making themselves the healthiest version possible. Way to go, ladies!

20130422-152439.jpgFrom left to right: Crystal, Ashley, myself, Susan, Tara and Lori

Awards were given to the top three in each age and gender division. Sadly, we didn’t make the cut, but Santana and I were pleased to find out that we each placed 6th our divisions. It’s a tough pill to swallow knowing that you were so close, yet so far away from getting that medal. We are kicking ourselves for not pushing just a little harder.

We track our runs so we have a general idea of our timing and mileage. I prefer to use RunKeeper while he likes to use the Nike + iPod.

20130423-120428.jpgThey are both pretty close to our official time, but I’d say RunKeeper is a bit more accurate. Maybe I can convince him into making the switch 😉

While being slightly disappointed for not completing it in the time I had set for myself (26:30), I’m still very proud of how far I’ve come since January.

Leave a Reply

